Paul Played Guitar

Paul played guitar
John raised the bar
For every other runner in our school
Steve got it right
gave us a fright
That night he jumped the rail and stormed the field
I wasted time
In my future life
Dreaming bout the days that never were

And now the years pass by
So don’t ask why
I just

Need to start living
Keep on forgivin
Before its gone and were out of time
How could 12 whole years pass by without another day?
Well hold on tight
You’re doing me right
The world gonna pass us by
So Grab my hand
close your eyes
Baby enjoy the ride

It was that summer when
I started giving in
She had this pretty little smile I’ll never forget
We were out one night
God i was feeling right
Rolling in the grass all over her

Paul took a bow
As he wowed the crowd
That girl was sitting in the front row
Now he’s giving in
Not thinking when
That girl slipped him something to think about

And while me and her were kissing
Paul was wishing that we would never grow up
he said…

I Need to start living
Keep on forgivin
Before its gone and were out of time
How could 12 whole years pass by without another day?
Well hold on tight
You’re doing me right
The world gonna pass us by
So Grab my hand
close your eyes
Baby enjoy the ride

Now everything’s changing
The world keeps phasing
Till there’s nothing left there to surprise
It took 12 whole years to learn to enjoy the ride
Now comes goodbye

Paul plans his life
Hopes to have a wife
John lives each moment as they come his way
Steve gives it all
Won’t drop the ball
For anyone or anyway
Now I’m looking at
the aftermath
Of what I was and who I am

And although it’s frightening,
It’s still exciting to think that tomorrow’s another day

Need to start living
Keep on forgivin
Before its gone and were out of time
How could 12 whole years pass by without another day?
Well hold on tight
You’re doing me right
The world gonna pass us by
So Grab my hand
close your eyes
Baby enjoy the ride

Posted on January 26, 2012, in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

